Sexual Harassment Training Is Indoctrination? What?

Posted: August 27, 2013 in conspiracy, legal / law, sexism
Tags: , , , , , ,

Sometimes WND publishes parodies. They point them out as such. This one is not marked as such, but the first two paragraphs are so “out there” that I still hold out hope that it is.

The article is written by Walter E. Williams, Ph.D. and an economics professor at George Mason University in Fairfax, VA. His article is entitled, “The University’s Attempt to Re-Educate Me.” Here are the first two paragraphs:

This week begins my 34th year serving on George Mason University’s distinguished economics faculty. You might imagine my surprise when I received a letter from its Office of Equity and Diversity Services notifying me that I was required to “complete the in-person Equal Opportunity and Prevention of Sexual Harassment Policies and Procedures training.” This is a leftist agenda for indoctrination, thought control and free-speech suppression to which I shall refuse to submit. Let’s look at it.

Ideas such as equity and equal opportunity, while having high emotional value, are vacuous analytical concepts. For example, I’ve asked students whether they plan to give every employer an equal opportunity to hire them when they graduate. To a person, they always answer no. If they aren’t going to give every employer an equal opportunity to hire them, what’s fair about forcing employers to give them an equal opportunity to be hired?

Wow. I should just be able to end this post there and be done with it because I expect most of my readers to be shaking their collective heads at this point.

Instead, I’m trying to keep myself awake another hour or two so let’s get in a bit more. Let me be fairly blunt: I’ve mocked sexual harassment training, myself. At CU, we are required to take it every five years. I took it when I first started as a grad student and it was an hour-long seminar and we covered all the stuff you’d expect to. My fifth year, my training “expired” but fortunately they had moved to an online version and after watching slides I took a multiple-choice test and passed and that was it. I joked with people that I didn’t need any training, I knew how to sexually harass. In addition, on my annual evaluation, I have to put down that I have both taken (within the last five years) sexual harassment training and passed it, otherwise I automatically fail my annual review.

And let’s be honest here: In today’s litigious society, it is very, very easy to sexually harass someone. Telling an off-color joke that’s overheard by someone who takes offense – despite all intentions – can be considered sexual harassment. Touching someone’s hand to get their attention can be considered sexual harassment (we were taught to touch the elbow or shoulder in my 2005 class). And of course there are the much more obvious and overt methods that everyone knows.

It’s because it’s so easy to claim that one has been sexually harassed that pretty much every company and institution has put into effect mandatory sexual harassment training for all employees. It’s to save their asses. It’s so that if Person A is accused and found guilty of sexual harassment of Person B and this took place at Company C, then Person B can’t also sue Company C because they can claim, “Look, we have mandatory training in place and we did everything we could!” Without that, Person B is much more likely to be successful if they chose to sue Company C because Company C has not been proactive in covering their asses training their employees.

Without any other information, I would guess that’s exactly what’s going on here. Either George Mason is just now putting this in place (it is Virginia …) or Dr. Williams’ mandatory training has either expired or he never went in the first place and it was overlooked by a former supervisor or person in HR. This isn’t some left-wing plot or indoctrination, this is the university legal team covering their asses against a crotchety old black man who, in his article, starts out paragraph three by saying that he’s discriminated and harassed.

Seriously, dude, get over yourself and spend the hour to get a checkmark on the form and be done with it.

Leave a Reply

